Gremium für Kontaminanten in der Lebensmittelkette


The Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain (CONTAM) provides scientific advice on contaminants in the food chain and undesirable substances such as natural toxicants, mycotoxins and residues of unauthorised substances.

CONTAM Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Chemistry – organic, inorganic, analytical chemistry, food and feed processing in the area of chemical contaminants
  • Exposure assessment – expertise is required especially in relation to dietary exposure assessment of chemical contaminants including knowledge on food consumption surveys
  • Human and veterinary toxicology (in risk assessment of chemicals) – absorption, distribution, metabolism, excretion (ADME) of substances (toxicokinetics and toxicodynamics), sub-chronic and chronic toxicity (repeated dose studies), genotoxicity and mutagenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity, allergenicity and immunotoxicity.
  • Toxicological tests in experimental animals – interpreting toxic effects of chemical contaminants in farm and pet animals
  • Epidemiology – biomarkers of the effects and exposure and interpretation of human data)
  • Statistics – assessment of dose-response effects, e.g. benchmark dose modelling and analysis of complex (epidemiological) data sets
  • Animal nutrition – animal exposure assessment.
Panel members 

Mitglieder des CONTAM -Gremiums, 2018-2021. Zu den Interessenerklärungen und Lebensläufen.

Name Rolle
Bignami, Margherita Mitglied
Bodin, Laurent Mitglied
Chipman, James Kevin Mitglied
Del Mazo, Jesus Mitglied
Grasl-Kraupp, Bettina Mitglied
Hogstrand, Christer Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Hoogenboom, Laurentius (Ron) Mitglied
Leblanc, Jean-Charles Mitglied
Nebbia, Carlo Stefano Mitglied
Nielsen, Elsa Mitglied
Ntzani, Evangelia Mitglied
Petersen, Annette Mitglied
Sand, Salomon Mitglied
Schrenk, Dieter Vorsitzender
Schwerdtle, Tanja Mitglied
Vleminckx, Christiane Mitglied
Wallace, Heather Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Jan Alexander, Mitglied
  • Lars Barregard, Mitglied
  • Margherita Bignami, Mitglied
  • Beat Brüschweiler, Mitglied as of July 2016
  • Sandra Ceccatelli, Mitglied
  • Bruce Cottrill, Mitglied
  • Michael Dinovi, Mitglied
  • Lutz Edler, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Bettina Grasl-Kraupp, Mitglied
  • Christer Hogstrand, Mitglied
  • Laurentius (Ron) Hoogenboom, Mitglied
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen, Vorsitzender
  • Carlo Stefano Nebbia, Mitglied
  • Isabelle Oswald, Mitglied
  • Annette Petersen, Mitglied
  • Vera Maria Rogiers, Mitglied until June 2016
  • Martin Rose, Mitglied
  • Alain-Claude Roudot, Mitglied
  • Tanja Schwerdtle, Mitglied
  • Christiane Vleminckx, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Guenter Vollmer, Mitglied
  • Heather Wallace, Mitglied


  • Diane Benford, Vorsitzender
  • Peter Fürst, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Dieter Schrenk, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Sandra Ceccatelli
  • Bruce Cottrill
  • Michael DiNovi
  • Eugenia Dogliotti
  • Lutz Edler
  • Peter Farmer
  • Anne Katrine Lundebye
  • Laurentius Ron Hoogenboom
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen
  • Manfred Metzler
  • Antonio Mutti
  • Carlo Stefano Nebbia
  • Michael O’Keeffe
  • Annette Petersen
  • Ivonne Rietjens, until May 2014
  • Vittorio Silano, until July 2014
  • Hendrik Van Loveren
  • Christiane Vleminckx
  • Pieter Wester


  • Josef Schlatter, Vorsitzender
  • Diane Benford, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Rolaf van Leeuwen, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Jan Alexander
  • Alan Boobis
  • Sandra Ceccatelli
  • Bruce Cottrill, as of May 2011
  • Jean-Pierre Cravedi
  • Alessandro di Domenico
  • Daniel Doerge
  • Eugenia Dogliotti
  • Lutz Edler
  • Peter Farmer
  • Metka Filipic
  • Johanna Fink-Gremmels
  • Peter Fürst
  • Thierry Guérin
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen
  • Christopher Livesey, until July 2009
  • Miroslav Machala
  • Antonio Mutti
  • Martin Rose, as of May 2011
  • Philippe Verger, until November 2009

Forthcoming events

No future events are currently scheduled for this panel.