Biologische Gefahren


The Panel on Biological Hazards (BIOHAZ) provides scientific advice on biological hazards in relation to food safety and food-borne diseases. This covers animal diseases transmissible to humans; transmissible spongiform encephalopathies; food microbiology; food hygiene and associated waste management issues.

BIOHAZ Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Epidemiology of food borne zoonoses (Salmonella, Campylobacter, etc)
  • Antimicrobial resistance
  • Processing of animal by-products
  • Food-borne viruses
  • Meat inspection in all food-producing species
  • Food hygiene and microbiology
  • Microbiological criteria
  • Biological risks ;associated with composite products, and with fresh produce;
  • Decontamination of meat carcasses (antimicrobial treatments)
  • Quantitative microbiological risk assessment
  • TSEs (epidemiology, pathology, diagnostic, exposure assessment).

Mitglieder des BIOHAZ-Gremiums, 2018-2021. Zu den Interessenerklärungen und Lebensläufen.

Name Rolle
Allende, Ana Mitglied
Alvarez-Ordóñez, Avelino Mitglied
Bolton, Declan Joseph Mitglied
Bover-Cid, Sara Mitglied
Chemaly, Marianne Mitglied
Herman, Lieve Maria Mitglied
Hilbert, Friederike Mitglied
Koutsoumanis, Konstantinos Panagiotis Mitglied
Lindqvist, Roland Mitglied
Nauta, Maarten Mitglied
Peixe, Luisa Mitglied
Rossi, Mirko Mitglied
Ru, Giuseppe Mitglied
Simmons, Marion Mitglied
Skandamis, Panagiotis Mitglied
Suffredini, Elisabetta Mitglied


Mitglieder des BIOHAZ-Gremiums, 2015-2018. Zu den Interessenerklärungen und Lebensläufen.

Name Rolle
Ricci, Antonia Vorsitzender
Koutsoumanis, Konstantinos Panagiotis Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Nørrung, Birgit Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Allende, Ana Mitglied
Bolton, Declan Mitglied
Chemaly, Marianne Mitglied
Davies, Robert Mitglied
Fernandez Escamez, Pablo Salvador Mitglied
Girones, Rosina Mitglied
Herman, Lieve Mitglied
Lindqvist, Roland Mitglied
Robertson, Lucy Mitglied
Ru, Giuseppe Mitglied
Sanaa, Moez Mitglied
Simmons, Marion Mitglied
Skandamis, Panagiotis Mitglied
Snary, Emma Mitglied
Speybroeck, Niko Mitglied
Ter Kuile, Benno Mitglied
Threlfall, John Mitglied
Wahlström, Helene Mitglied
Frühere Mitglieder des Gremiums  

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • John Griffin, Chair from March 2014, Vice-chair from July 2012 to March 2014
  • John Sofos, Chair from July 2012 to March 2014
  • Arie Havelaar, Vice-chair
  • Paul Cook, Vice-chair from March 2014
  • Olivier Andreoletti
  • Dorte Lau Baggesen
  • Declan Bolton
  • Patrick Butaye
  • Robert Davies
  • Pablo S. Fernández Escámez
  • Tine Hald
  • Kostas Koutsoumanis
  • Roland Lindqvist
  • James McLauchlin
  • Truls Nesbakken
  • Miguel Prieto Maradona
  • Antonia Ricci
  • Giuseppe Ru
  • Moez Sanaa
  • Marion Simmons
  • John Threlfall


  • John D. Collins, Chair from June 2009 to Jan 2011 - (Prof. Collins died on 25 April 2012)
  • Birgit Norrung, Chair from March 2011 to June 2012, Vice-chair from June 2009 to January 2011
  • Herbert Budka, Vice-chair from March 2011 to June 2012 and from June 2009 to January 2011
  • John Sofos, Vice-chair from March 2011 to June 2012
  • Olivier Andreoletti
  • Sava Buncic
  • John Griffin
  • Tine Hald
  • Arie Havelaar
  • James Hope
  • Günter Klein
  • Kostas Koutsoumanis, from May 2011 to June 2012
  • Winy Messens, from June 2009 to July 2010
  • James McLauchlin
  • Christine Müller-Graf
  • Christophe Nguyen The
  • Luísa Peixe
  • Miguel Prieto Maradona
  • Antonia Ricci
  • John Threlfall
  • Ivar Vågsholm
  • Emmanuel Vanopdenbosch

Forthcoming events

No future events are currently scheduled for this panel.