Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain


The Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain (CONTAM) provides scientific advice on contaminants in the food chain and undesirable substances such as natural toxicants, mycotoxins and residues of unauthorised substances.

CONTAM Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Chemistry – organic, inorganic, analytical chemistry, food and feed processing in the area of chemical contaminants
  • Exposure assessment – expertise is required especially in relation to dietary exposure assessment of chemical contaminants including knowledge on food consumption surveys
  • Human and veterinary toxicology (in risk assessment of chemicals) – absorption, distribution, metabolism, excretion (ADME) of substances (toxicokinetics and toxicodynamics), sub-chronic and chronic toxicity (repeated dose studies), genotoxicity and mutagenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity, allergenicity and immunotoxicity.
  • Toxicological tests in experimental animals – interpreting toxic effects of chemical contaminants in farm and pet animals
  • Epidemiology – biomarkers of the effects and exposure and interpretation of human data)
  • Statistics – assessment of dose-response effects, e.g. benchmark dose modelling and analysis of complex (epidemiological) data sets
  • Animal nutrition – animal exposure assessment.
Panel members 

CONTAM Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Bignami, Margherita Member
Bodin, Laurent Member
Chipman, James Kevin Member
Del Mazo, Jesus Member
Grasl-Kraupp, Bettina Member
Hogstrand, Christer Vice-Chair
Hoogenboom, Laurentius (Ron) Member
Leblanc, Jean-Charles Member
Nebbia, Carlo Stefano Member
Nielsen, Elsa Member
Ntzani, Evangelia Member
Petersen, Annette Member
Sand, Salomon Member
Schrenk, Dieter Chair
Schwerdtle, Tanja Member
Vleminckx, Christiane Member
Wallace, Heather Vice-Chair

CONTAM Panel Members, 2015-2018. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Knutsen, Helle Katrine Chair
Edler, Lutz Vice-Chair
Vleminckx, Christiane Vice-Chair
Alexander, Jan Member
Barregard, Lars Member
Bignami, Margherita Member
Brüschweiler Beat, Member as of July 2016 Member
Ceccatelli, Sandra Member
Cottrill, Bruce Member
Dinovi, Michael Member
Grasl-Kraupp, Bettina Member
Hogstrand, Christer Member
Hoogenboom, Laurentius (Ron) Member
Nebbia, Carlo Stefano Member
Oswald, Isabelle Member
Petersen, Annette Member
Rogiers, Vera Maria, Member until June 2016 Member
Rose, Martin Member
Roudot, Alain-Claude Member
Schwerdtle, Tanja Member
Vollmer, Guenter Member
Wallace, Heather Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Diane Benford, Chair
  • Peter Fürst, Vice-chair
  • Dieter Schrenk, Vice-chair
  • Sandra Ceccatelli
  • Bruce Cottrill
  • Michael DiNovi
  • Eugenia Dogliotti
  • Lutz Edler
  • Peter Farmer
  • Anne Katrine Lundebye
  • Laurentius Ron Hoogenboom
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen
  • Manfred Metzler
  • Antonio Mutti
  • Carlo Stefano Nebbia
  • Michael O’Keeffe
  • Annette Petersen
  • Ivonne Rietjens, until May 2014
  • Vittorio Silano, until July 2014
  • Hendrik Van Loveren
  • Christiane Vleminckx
  • Pieter Wester


  • Josef Schlatter, Chair
  • Diane Benford, Vice-chair
  • Rolaf van Leeuwen, Vice-chair
  • Jan Alexander
  • Alan Boobis
  • Sandra Ceccatelli
  • Bruce Cottrill, as of May 2011
  • Jean-Pierre Cravedi
  • Alessandro di Domenico
  • Daniel Doerge
  • Eugenia Dogliotti
  • Lutz Edler
  • Peter Farmer
  • Metka Filipic
  • Johanna Fink-Gremmels
  • Peter Fürst
  • Thierry Guérin
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen
  • Christopher Livesey, until July 2009
  • Miroslav Machala
  • Antonio Mutti
  • Martin Rose, as of May 2011
  • Philippe Verger, until November 2009