Management Board members | European Food Safety Authority Skip to main content

Management Board members

EFSA is governed by a Management Board whose members are mandated to act in the public interest.

The board ensures that the Authority functions effectively and efficiently, delivers its mandate as defined in its founding Regulation and meets the expectations of European and national institutions, stakeholders and the public.

The board has 15 members with a wide range of expertise related to the food chain but do not represent a government, organisation or sector. Four members have a background in organisations representing consumers and other interests in the food chain. The European Commission is also represented.

Members are appointed by the Council of the European Union – after consulting the European Parliament – from a shortlist drawn up by the European Commission following an open call for expressions of interest. The Board’s decisions are taken by a majority of its members.

The board’s key tasks are:

  • To establish EFSA’s budget and work programmes and monitor their implementation
  • To appoint the Executive Director and members of the Scientific Committee and the Scientific Panels
  • To ensure that EFSA’s priorities are in line with its mandate and key missions
  • To ensure appropriate financial management and accountability.

Management board members

Name Role
Raymond O’Rourke Chair
Aivars Bērziņš Vice Chair
Michael Winter Vice Chair
Geronimo Răducu Brănescu Member / Member Audit Committee
Herman Diricks Member / Chair Audit Committee
Libor Dupal Member
Iñaki Eguileor Member
Georgi Georgiev Member
Ulrich Herzog Member
Didier Houssin Member
Eleni Ioannou-Kakouri Member
Giuseppe Ruocco Member
András Székács Member / Vice Chair Audit Committee
Annette Toft Member / Member Audit Committee
Claire Bury Commission Member / Member Audit Committee
Nathalie Chaze Alternate Commission Member
Alexandra Nikolakopoulou Alternate Commission Member