Panel on Animal Health and Welfare


The Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW) provides scientific advice on all aspects of animal diseases and animal welfare. Its work chiefly concerns food producing animals, including fish.

AHAW Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Risk assessment, quantitative risk assessment, modelling
  • Microbiology and pathology (applied to infectious diseases of food-producing animals, including aquatic animals)
  • Epidemiology
  • Animal welfare
  • Animal production (husbandry, housing and management, animal transport and stunning and killing of animals)
Panel members 

AHAW Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Alvarez, Julio Member
Bicout, Dominique Joseph Member
Calistri, Paolo Member
Depner, Klaus Member
Drewe, Julian Ashley Member
Garin-Bastuji, Bruno Member
Gonzales Rojas, Jose Luis Member
Gortázar Schmidt, Christian Member
Herskin, Mette Member, as of September 2020
Michel, Virginie Vice-Chair
Miranda Chueca, Miguel Ángel Vice-Chair
Nielsen, Søren Saxmose Chair
Pasquali, Paolo Member, as of September 2020
Roberts, Helen Clare Member
Sihvonen, Liisa Helena Member
Spoolder, Hans Member
Stahl, Karl Member
Velarde Calvo, Antonio Member, as of September 2019
Viltrop, Arvo Member
Winckler, Christoph Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Dominique Joseph Bicout, Member
  • Andrew Butterworth, Member
  • Anette Bøtner, Member
  • Paolo Calistri, Member
  • Klaus Depner, Member
  • Sandra Edwards, Member
  • Bruno Garin-Bastuji, Member
  • Margaret Good, Member
  • Christian Gortazar Schmidt, Member
  • Virginie Michel, Vice-Chair
  • Miguel Ángel Miranda Chueca, Member
  • Simon More, Chair
  • Søren Saxmose Nielsen, Member
  • Mohan Raj, Member
  • Liisa Helena Sihvonen, Member
  • Hans Spoolder, Member
  • Jan Arend Stegeman, Member
  • Hans-Hermann Thulke, Vice-Chair
  • Antonio Velarde, Member
  • Preben Willeberg, Member
  • Christoph Winckler, Member


  • Simon More, Chair
  • Hans-Hermann Thulke, Vice-chair
  • Edit Authie
  • Charlotte Berg
  • Anette Bøtner
  • Howard Browman
  • Ilaria Capua, until July 2014
  • Aline De Koijer
  • Klaus Depner
  • Mariano Domingo
  • Christian Ducrot (as of October 2014)
  • Sandra Edwards
  • Christine Fourichon
  • Frank Koenen
  • Mohan Raj
  • Liisa Sihvonen
  • Hans Spoolder
  • Jan Arend Stegeman
  • Antonio Velarde
  • Ivar Vågsholm
  • Preben Willeberg
  • Stéphan Zientara, until July 2014


  • Philippe Vannier, Chair
  • Jörg Hartung, Vice-chair
  • James Michael Sharp, Vice-chair
  • Anette Botner
  • Donald Broom
  • Markus Doherr
  • Mariano Domingo
  • Linda Keeling
  • Frank Koenen
  • Simon More
  • David B. Morton
  • Pascal Oltenacu
  • Albert Osterhaus, until July 2011
  • Fulvio Salati
  • Mo Salman
  • Moez Sanaa
  • Jan Arend Stegeman
  • Endre Szucs
  • Hans-Hermann Thulke
  • Anthony John Francis Webster
  • Martin Wierup

Forthcoming events

No future events are currently scheduled for this panel.