Gremium für Tiergesundheit und Tierschutz


The Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW) provides scientific advice on all aspects of animal diseases and animal welfare. Its work chiefly concerns food producing animals, including fish.

AHAW Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Risk assessment, quantitative risk assessment, modelling
  • Microbiology and pathology (applied to infectious diseases of food-producing animals, including aquatic animals)
  • Epidemiology
  • Animal welfare
  • Animal production (husbandry, housing and management, animal transport and stunning and killing of animals)

Mitglieder des AHAW-Gremiums, 2018-2021. Zu den Interessenerklärungen und Lebensläufen.

Name Rolle
Alvarez, Julio Mitglied
Bicout, Dominique Joseph Mitglied
Calistri, Paolo Mitglied
Depner, Klaus Mitglied
Drewe, Julian Ashley Mitglied
Garin-Bastuji, Bruno Mitglied
Gonzales Rojas, Jose Luis Mitglied
Gortázar Schmidt, Christian Mitglied
Michel, Virginie Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Miranda Chueca, Miguel Ángel Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Nielsen, Søren Saxmose Vorsitzender
Roberts, Helen Clare Mitglied
Sihvonen, Liisa Helena Mitglied
Spoolder, Hans Mitglied
Stahl, Karl Mitglied
Viltrop, Arvo Mitglied
Winckler, Christoph Mitglied

Mitglieder des AHAW-Gremiums, 2015-2018. Zu den Interessenerklärunge und Lebensläufen.

Name Rolle
More, Simon Vorsitzender
Michel, Virginie Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Thulke, Hans-Hermann Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
Bicout, Dominique Joseph Mitglied
Butterworth, Andrew Mitglied
Bøtner, Anette Mitglied
Calistri, Paolo Mitglied
Depner, Klaus Mitglied
Edwards, Sandra Mitglied
Garin-Bastuji, Bruno Mitglied
Good, Margaret Mitglied
Gortazar Schmidt, Christian Mitglied
Miranda Chueca, Miguel Ángel Mitglied
Nielsen, Søren Saxmose Mitglied
Raj, Mohan Mitglied
Sihvonen, Liisa Helena Mitglied
Spoolder, Hans Mitglied
Stegeman, Jan Arend Mitglied
Velarde, Antonio Mitglied
Willeberg, Preben Mitglied
Winckler, Christoph Mitglied
Frühere Mitglieder des Gremiums  

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Simon More, Vorsitzender
  • Hans-Hermann Thulke, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Edit Authie
  • Charlotte Berg
  • Anette Bøtner
  • Howard Browman
  • Ilaria Capua, until July 2014
  • Aline De Koijer
  • Klaus Depner
  • Mariano Domingo
  • Christian Ducrot (as of October 2014)
  • Sandra Edwards
  • Christine Fourichon
  • Frank Koenen
  • Mohan Raj
  • Liisa Sihvonen
  • Hans Spoolder
  • Jan Arend Stegeman
  • Antonio Velarde
  • Ivar Vågsholm
  • Preben Willeberg
  • Stéphan Zientara, until July 2014


  • Philippe Vannier, Vorsitzende
  • Jörg Hartung, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • James Michael Sharp, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende
  • Anette Botner
  • Donald Broom
  • Markus Doherr
  • Mariano Domingo
  • Linda Keeling
  • Frank Koenen
  • Simon More
  • David B. Morton
  • Pascal Oltenacu
  • Albert Osterhaus, until July 2011
  • Fulvio Salati
  • Mo Salman
  • Moez Sanaa
  • Jan Arend Stegeman
  • Endre Szucs
  • Hans-Hermann Thulke
  • Anthony John Francis Webster
  • Martin Wierup


Forthcoming events

No future events are currently scheduled for this panel.