Panel on Nutrition, Novel Foods and Food Allergens


The Panel on Nutrition, Novel Foods and Food Allergens (NDA) deals with questions related to human nutrition, novel foods, nutrient sources, foods for special groups such as infant formulae, health claims on food products, dietary reference values, and food allergies.

NDA panel members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Nutrition
  • Nutritional epidemiology
  • Human medicine
  • Infant nutrition
  • Pediatrics
  • Dietary exposure assessment
  • Food allergy and intolerance
  • Toxicology
  • Food Technology
    • Microbiology
    • Biochemistry

The NDA Panel assumed responsibility for the evaluation of nutrient sources added to food following the renewal of EFSA’s scientific panels in 2018.

Panel members 

Nutrition, Novel Foods and Food Allergens Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Castenmiller, Jacqueline Jozefine Maria Member
De Henauw, Stefaan Member
Hirsch-Ernst, Karen Ildico Member
Kearney, John Member
Knutsen, Helle Katrine Member
Maciuk, Alexandre Member
Mangelsdorf, Inge Member
McArdle, Harry Vice-Chair
Naska, Androniki Vice-Chair
Pelaez, Carmen Member
Pentieva, Kristina Member
Siani, Alfonso Member
Thies, Frank Member
Tsabouri, Sophia Member
Turck, Dominique Chair
Vinceti, Marco Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Jean-Louis Bresson, Member
  • Barbara Burlingame, Member
  • Tara Dean, Member
  • Susan Fairweather-Tait, Member
  • Marina Heinonen, Member
  • Karen Ildico Hirsch-Ernst, Member
  • Inge Mangelsdorf, Member
  • Harry McArdle, Member
  • Androniki Naska, Vice-Chair
  • Monika Neuhäuser-Berthold, Member
  • Grazyna Nowicka, Member
  • Kristina Pentieva, Member
  • Yolanda Sanz, Member
  • Alfonso Siani, Member
  • Anders Mikael Sjodin, Member
  • Martin Stern, Member
  • Daniel Tomé, Member
  • Dominique Turck, Chair
  • Henk Van Loveren, Vice-Chair
  • Marco Vinceti, Member
  • Peter Willatts, Member


  • Ambroise Martin, Chair
  • Yolanda Sanz, Vice-chair
  • John J Strain, Vice-chair
  • Carlo Virginio Agostoni
  • Roberto Berni Canani
  • Susan Fairweather-Tait
  • Marina Heinonen
  • Hannu Jaakko Tapani Korhonen
  • Sébastien La Vieille
  • Rosangela Marchelli
  • Androniki Naska
  • Monika Neuhäuser-Berthold
  • Grazyna Nowicka
  • Alfonso Siani
  • Anders Sjödin
  • Martin Stern
  • Inge Tetens
  • Daniel Tomé
  • Dominique Turck
  • Hans Verhagen


  • Albert Flynn, Chair
  • Hildegard Przyrembel, Vice-chair
  • Hendrik Van Loveren, Vice-chair
  • Carlo Virginio Agostoni
  • Jean-Louis Bresson
  • Susan Fairweather-Tait
  • Ines Golly
  • Hannu Korhonen
  • Pagona Lagiou
  • Martinus Løvik
  • Rosangela Marchelli
  • Ambroise Martin
  • Bevan Moseley
  • Monika Neuhäuser- Berthold
  • Seppo Salminen
  • Yolanda Sanz
  • John J.Strain
  • Stephan Strobel
  • Inge Tetens
  • Daniel Tomé
  • Hans Verhagen