Skip to main content

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee develops harmonised risk assessment methodologies on scientific matters of a horizontal nature in the fields within EFSA's remit where EU-wide approaches are not already defined. It provides general co-ordination to ensure consistency in the scientific opinions prepared by EFSA's Scientific Panels. It also provides strategic scientific advice to EFSA’s management.

Scientific Committee Members are prominent scientists from across Europe, of recognised scientific excellence with competences spreading across disciplines within EFSA's remit, seniority and prior experience with scientific bodies:

  • Risk assessment practice – human health risk assessment, food consumption and exposure assessment, environmental risk assessment, animal health risk assessment, toxicology, microbiology, human nutrition, epidemiology, animal health, animal welfare, human medicine, veterinary medicine, food hygiene, food technology, chemistry, biology, biochemistry, life sciences.
  • Cross-cutting scientific issues – statistical approaches in risk assessment, the preparation of guidance for the safety assessment of applications of new technologies in the area of food and feed, the harmonisation of the use of default assumptions in the absence of real data, the safety assessment of botanicals and botanical preparations and the introduction of validated complementary techniques in risk assessment using ‘omics’ technologies, QSAR and mathematical models.

Panel Members

Scientific Committee Members 2021-2024

Chair: More Simon John
Vice-chair: Benford Diane; Hougaard Bennekou Susanne
Members: Bampidis Vasileios; Bragard Claude; Halldorsson Thorhallur Ingi; Hernández-Jerez Antonio F.; Koutsoumanis Konstantinos Panagiotis; Lambré Claude; Machera Kyriaki; Mullins Ewen; Nielsen Søren Saxmose; Schlatter Josef Rudolf; Schrenk Dieter; Turck Dominique; Younes Maged.
View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Previous Panel Members


Chair: More Simon John
Vice-chair: Benford Diane; Hougaard Bennekou Susanne
Members: Bampidis Vasileios; Bragard Claude; Halldorsson Thorhallur Ingi; Hernández-Jerez Antonio F.; Koutsoumanis Konstantinos Panagiotis; Lambré Claude (as of February 2021); Machera Kyriaki; Naegeli Hanspeter; Nielsen Søren Saxmose; Schlatter Josef Rudolf; Schrenk Dieter; Silano Vittorio (until December 2020 †); Turck Dominique; Younes Maged.


Chair: Tony Hardy
Vice-chair: Diane Benford; Hubert Noteborn
Members: Thorhallur Ingi Halldorsson; Michael John Jeger; Helle Katrine Knutsen; Simon More; Alicja Mortensen, until June 2017; Hanspeter Naegeli; Colin Ockleford; Antonia Ricci; Guido Rychen; Josef Rudolf Schlatter; Vittorio Silano; Roland Solecki; Dominique Turck; Maged Younes, as of July 2017


Chair: Anthony Richard Hardy
Vice-chair: Jan Alexander; Robert Luttik
Members: Mohammad Qasim Chaudhry; Birgit Noerrung; Josef Rudolf Schlatter; Diane Benford, Chair of the CONTAM Panel; Michael John Jeger, Chair of the PLH Panel; Ambroise Martin, Chair of the NDA Panel; Simon More, Chair of the AHAW Panel; Alicja Mortensen, Chair of the ANS Panel; Bernadette Ossendorp, Chair of the PPR Panel; Joe Perry, Chair of the GMO Panel; Kristen Sejrsen, Chair of the FEEDAP Panel; Vittorio Silano, Chair of the CEF Panel; John Griffin, Chair of the BIOHAZ Panel


Chair: Vittorio Silano
Vice-chair: Ada Knaap; David Lovell
Members: Boris Antunovic, as of March 2011; Susan Barlow; Andrew Chesson; Dan Collins, until January 2011; Albert Flynn; Corrado Galli, until February 2011; Anthony Richard Hardy; Michael John Jeger; Harry Kuiper; Alicja Mortensen, as of May 2012; Birgit Noerrung, as of February 2011; Iona Pratt, as of July 2011; Ivonne Rietjens, from July 2011 until May 2012; Josef Rudolf Schlatter; Frans Smulders; Philippe Vannier

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon interestmanagement [at] (request).


Emerging Risks Exchange Network

EFSA networks with Member States, EU and international agencies on exchanging data, methodologies and lessons learnt on emerging risks through its Emerging Risks Exchange Network (EREN).

Risk assessment of nanotechnologies in food and feed

The main goals are to facilitate harmonisation of assessment practices and methodologies, enhance exchange of information and data between EFSA and Member States, and achieve synergies in risk assessment activities.

Working groups

We are having a technical issue with the publication of DOIs and are working to resolve it. If you are looking for a specific DOI and cannot find it on the system please contact interestmanagement [at]

Name Meetings, agendas and minutes (last updated)
Chemical mixtures
Compendium of Botanicals
Cross cutting WG uncertainty
Cross-cutting WG Benchmark Dose
Cross-cutting WG Genotoxicity
Cross-cutting WG nanotechnologies
Emerging Chemical Risks
Multiple stressors in bees (MUST-B)
Non-monotonic dose-responses
Protocol development
WG SynBioM

Closed working groups

Name Minutes (last update)
Carvone assessment
Compendium of botanicals V3
Emerging Risks (Standing Working Group)
Emerging Risks (standing working group)
Endocrine active substances
Environmental risk assessment overarching group
Epidemiological studies
Genotoxicity (standing working group) 2012-2015
Genotoxicity (standing working group) 2015-2018
Guidance review - Standing WG - Mandate
HBGV nutrients and additives
Qualified presumption of safety (QPS) approach for assessment of botanicals
Safety risks from insects as food and feed
WG genotoxicity testing strategies