Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee develops harmonised risk assessment methodologies on scientific matters of a horizontal nature in the fields within EFSA's remit where EU-wide approaches are not already defined. It provides general co-ordination to ensure consistency in the scientific opinions prepared by EFSA's Scientific Panels. It also provides strategic scientific advice to EFSA’s management.

Scientific Committee Members are prominent scientists from across Europe, of recognised scientific excellence with competences spreading across disciplines within EFSA's remit, seniority and prior experience with scientific bodies:

  • Risk assessment practice – human health risk assessment, food consumption and exposure assessment, environmental risk assessment, animal health risk assessment, toxicology, microbiology, human nutrition, epidemiology, animal health, animal welfare, human medicine, veterinary medicine, food hygiene, food technology, chemistry, biology, biochemistry, life sciences.
  • Cross-cutting scientific issues – statistical approaches in risk assessment, the preparation of guidance for the safety assessment of applications of new technologies in the area of food and feed, the harmonisation of the use of default assumptions in the absence of real data, the safety assessment of botanicals and botanical preparations and the introduction of validated complementary techniques in risk assessment using ‘omics’ technologies, QSAR and mathematical models.
Panel members 

Scientific Committee Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Benford, Diane Vice-Chair
Machera, Kyriaki Member
Halldorsson, Thorhallur Ingi Member
Hougaard Bennekou, Susanne Vice-Chair
More, Simon John Chair
Schlatter, Josef Rudolf Member
Nielsen, Søren Saxmose Member
Koutsoumanis, Konstantinos Panagiotis Member
Silano, Vittorio Member
Schrenk, Dieter Member
Younes, Maged Member
Bampidis, Vasileios Member
Naegeli, Hanspeter Member
Turck, Dominique Member
Bragard, Claude Member
Hernández-Jerez, Antonio F. Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Diane Benford, Vice-Chair
  • Thorhallur Ingi Halldorsson, Member
  • Tony Hardy, Chair
  • Michael John Jeger, Member
  • Helle Katrine Knutsen, Member
  • Simon More, Member
  • Alicja Mortensen, Member until June 2017
  • Hanspeter Naegeli, Member
  • Hubert Noteborn, Vice-Chair
  • Colin Ockleford, Member
  • Antonia Ricci, Member
  • Guido Rychen, Member
  • Josef Rudolf Schlatter, Member
  • Vittorio Silano, Member
  • Roland Solecki, Member
  • Dominique Turck, Member
  • Maged Younes, Member as of July 2017


  • Anthony Richard Hardy, Chair
  • Jan Alexander, Vice-chair
  • Robert Luttik, Vice-chair
  • Mohammad Qasim Chaudhry
  • Birgit Noerrung
  • Josef Rudolf Schlatter
  • Diane Benford, Chair of the CONTAM Panel
  • Michael John Jeger, Chair of the PLH Panel
  • Ambroise Martin, Chair of the NDA Panel
  • Simon More, Chair of the AHAW Panel
  • Alicja Mortensen, Chair of the ANS Panel
  • Bernadette Ossendorp, Chair of the PPR Panel
  • Joe Perry, Chair of the GMO Panel
  • Kristen Sejrsen, Chair of the FEEDAP Panel
  • Vittorio Silano, Chair of the CEF Panel
  • John Griffin, Chair of the BIOHAZ Panel


  • Vittorio Silano, Chair
  • Ada Knaap, Vice-chair
  • David Lovell, Vice-chair
  • Boris Antunovic, as of March 2011
  • Susan Barlow
  • Andrew Chesson
  • Dan Collins, until January 2011
  • Albert Flynn
  • Corrado Galli, until February 2011
  • Anthony Richard Hardy
  • Michael John Jeger
  • Harry Kuiper
  • Alicja Mortensen, as of May 2012
  • Birgit Noerrung, as of February 2011
  • Iona Pratt, as of July 2011
  • Ivonne Rietjens, from July 2011 until May 2012
  • Josef Rudolf Schlatter
  • Frans Smulders
  • Philippe Vannier