Panel on Plant Protection Products and their Residues


The Panel on Plant Protection Products and their Residues (PPR) provides scientific advice on the risk assessment of pesticides for operators, workers, consumers and the environment. The Panel develops and reviews guidance documents on the risk assessment of pesticides. This work supports the evaluation of active substances used in pesticides, which is carried out Rapporteur Member States and peer reviewed by EFSA staff.

PPR Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Active substances – chemical and microbiological (viruses, bacteria, fungi, etc)
  • Physical-chemical properties (of plant protection products and their active substances)
  • Methods of analysis (of plant protection products and of their residues)
  • Toxicology and regulatory toxicology
  • Non dietary exposure and risk assessment (of plant protection products)
  • Dietary exposure and risk assessment (of residues of plant protection products in food and feed commodities)
  • Environmental fate and behaviour (of plant protection products)
  • Ecotoxicology
  • Ecology and population dynamics
  • Ecological/Environmental exposure and risk assessment.
Panel members 

PPR Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Adriaanse, Paulien Member
Aldrich, Annette Patrizia Member
Berny, Philippe Member
Coja, Tamara Member
Duquesne, Sabine Member
Focks, Andreas Member from the 1st of July 2020
Gimsing, Anne Louise Member until September 2019
Hernández-Jerez, Antonio F. Chair
Marinovich, Marina Member
Millet, Maurice Member
Pelkonen, Olavi Reino Member
Pieper, Silvia Vice-Chair
Tiktak, Aaldrik Member
Topping, Christopher John Vice-Chair
Tzoulaki, Ioanna Member until February 2020
Widenfalk, Anneli Member
Wilks, Martin Member from the 1st of July 2020
Wolterink, Gerrit Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Paulien Adriaanse, Member
  • Philippe Berny, Member
  • Theodorus Brock, Vice-Chair
  • Sabine Duquesne, Member
  • Sandro Grilli, Member
  • Antonio F. Hernandez-Jerez, Member
  • Susanne Hougaard, Vice-Chair
  • Michael Klein, Member
  • Thomas Kuhl, Member
  • Ryszard Laskowski, Member
  • Kyriaki Machera, Member
  • Colin Ockleford, Chair
  • Olavi Pelkonen, Member
  • Silvia Pieper, Member
  • Rob Smith, Member
  • Michael Stemmer, Member
  • Ingvar Sundh, Member
  • Ivana Teodorovic, Member
  • Aaldrik Tiktak, Member
  • Christopher John Topping, Member
  • Gerrit Wolterink, Member


  • Bernadette Ossendorp, Chair
  • Theodorus Brock, Vice-chair
  • Susanne Hougaard Bennekou, Vice-chair
  • Alf Aagaard
  • Ettore Capri
  • Sabine Duquesne
  • Metka Filipic
  • Antonio F. Hernandez-Jerez
  • Karen Ildico Hirsch-Ernst
  • Michael Klein
  • Thomas Kuhl
  • Ryszard Laskowski
  • Matthias Liess
  • Alberto Mantovani
  • Colin Ockleford
  • Daniel Pickford, until July 2014
  • Robert Smith
  • Paulo Sousa
  • Ingvar Sundh
  • Aaldrik Tiktak
  • Ton Van Der Linden


  • Anthony Hardy, Chair
  • Robert Luttik, Vice-chair
  • Angelo Moretto until 20/01/2011 – Vice-chair (until 20/01/2011)
  • Susanne Hougaard Bennekou, Vice-chair (as of 21/09/2011)
  • Anne Alix, until 13/04/2010
  • Jos Boesten
  • Claudia Bolognesi
  • Theodorus Brock, as of 15/01/2010
  • Ettore Capri
  • Michael Klein, as of 12/05/2010
  • Andrew Hart
  • Karen Ildico Hirsch-Ernst
  • Kyriaki Machera, as of 02/04/2011
  • Bernadette Ossendorp
  • Annette Petersen
  • Yolanda Pico
  • Andreas Schaeffer
  • Paulo Sousa
  • Walter Steurbaut
  • Anita Strömberg
  • Maria Tasheva
  • Ton Van Der Linden
  • Christiane Vleminckx