Genetisch veränderte Organismen


The Panel on Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO) provides independent scientific advice on food and feed safety, environmental risk assessment and molecular characterisation/plant science. Its work chiefly concerns genetically-modified plants, micro-organisms and animals.

GMO Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:


  • Food and feed safety assessment (GM-plants, GM-microorganisms, GM-animals)
    Food and genetic toxicology, immunology, food allergy, human and animal nutrition, dietary exposure, biochemistry and metabolism, food chemistry, compositional analysis statistics and field trial design, animal feeding trials


  • Environmental risk assessment (GM-plants, GM-microorganisms and GM-animals)
    Insect ecology and population dynamics, plant ecology, molecular ecology, ecotoxicology, plant biology, plant pathology, plant physiology, weed science, ecosystem services, soil science (soil organisms, biochemical processes, abiotic processes), plant population genetics, resistance evolution in target pest organisms (entomology, crop protection), geographical zoning and receiving environments, pest science (plant protection), impact of agriculture on biodiversity, vertical gene flow, horizontal gene flow, persistence and invasiveness (weediness), impact on non-target organisms (entomology, ecology), mathematical modelling, statistics and biometry, experimental design (field trial design, laboratory test design), agronomy, cropping systems and agricultural practices


  • Molecular characterisation and plant science
    Genome structure and evolution, gene regulation, genome stability, bioinformatics, plant breeding, molecular biology, plant and microbial physiology, biochemistry and metabolism (plants, microorganisms), proteomics, transcriptomics, genomics, genetic transformation, plant biology, food microbiology, antibiotic resistance, mathematical modelling, horizontal gene transfer, expression analysis, protein analysis, environmental microbiology, genetics, ecology.
Panel members 

GMO Panel Members, 2015-2018. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role Name Role
Naegeli, Hanspeter Chair Messean, Antoine Member
Casacuberta, Josep Vice-Chair Nielsen, Elsa Ebbesen Member
Gathmann, Achim Vice-Chair Nogue, Fabien Member
Birch, Andrew Nicholas Member Robaglia, Christophe Member
De Schrijver, Adinda Member Rostoks, Nils Member
Gralak, Mikolaj Antoni Member Sweet, Jeremy Member
Guerche, Philippe Member Tebbe, Christoph Member
Jones, Huw Member Visioli, Francesco Member
Manachini, Barbara Member Wal, Jean-Michel Member


Frühere Mitglieder des Gremiums  

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Joe Perry, Chair
  • Patrick du Jardin, Vice-chair
  • Gijs Kleter, Vice-chair
  • Salvatore Arpaia
  • Andrew Nicholas Edmund Birch
  • Andrew Chesson
  • Achim Gathmann
  • Jürgen Gropp
  • Lieve Herman
  • Hilde-Gunn Hoen-Sorteberg
  • Huw Jones
  • Jozsef Kiss
  • Pagona Lagiou, until November 2012
  • Martinus Lovik
  • Antoine Messéan
  • Hanspeter Naegeli
  • Kaare M. Nielsen
  • Jaroslava Ovesna
  • Nils Rostoks
  • Christoph Tebbe


  • Harry Kuiper, Chair
  • Sirpa Orvokki Kärenlampi, Vice-chair
  • Joe Perry, Vice-chair
  • Hans Christer Andersson
  • Salvatore Arpaia
  • Detlef Bartsch
  • Josep Casacuberta
  • Howard Vivian Davies
  • Gerhard Flachowsky
  • Patrick du Jardin
  • Huw Jones
  • Lieve Herman
  • Jozsef Kiss
  • Gijs Kleter
  • Antoine Messéan
  • Kaare M. Nielsen
  • Annette Pöting
  • Jeremy Sweet
  • Christoph Tebbe
  • Atte Von Wright
  • Jean-Michel Wal