Panel on Genetically Modified Organisms


The Panel on Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO) provides independent scientific advice on food and feed safety, environmental risk assessment and molecular characterisation/plant science. Its work chiefly concerns genetically-modified plants, micro-organisms and animals.

GMO Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Food and feed safety assessment (GM-plants, GM-microorganisms, GM-animals)
    Food and genetic toxicology, immunology, food allergy, human and animal nutrition, dietary exposure, biochemistry and metabolism, food chemistry, compositional analysis statistics and field trial design, animal feeding trials
  • Environmental risk assessment (GM-plants, GM-microorganisms and GM-animals)
    Insect ecology and population dynamics, plant ecology, molecular ecology, ecotoxicology, plant biology, plant pathology, plant physiology, weed science, ecosystem services, soil science (soil organisms, biochemical processes, abiotic processes), plant population genetics, resistance evolution in target pest organisms (entomology, crop protection), geographical zoning and receiving environments, pest science (plant protection), impact of agriculture on biodiversity, vertical gene flow, horizontal gene flow, persistence and invasiveness (weediness), impact on non-target organisms (entomology, ecology), mathematical modelling, statistics and biometry, experimental design (field trial design, laboratory test design), agronomy, cropping systems and agricultural practices
  • Molecular characterisation and plant science
    Genome structure and evolution, gene regulation, genome stability, bioinformatics, plant breeding, molecular biology, plant and microbial physiology, biochemistry and metabolism (plants, microorganisms), proteomics, transcriptomics, genomics, genetic transformation, plant biology, food microbiology, antibiotic resistance, mathematical modelling, horizontal gene transfer, expression analysis, protein analysis, environmental microbiology, genetics, ecology.
Panel members 

GMO Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Bresson, Jean Louis Member
Dalmay, Tamas Vice-Chair
Dewhurst, Ian Crawford Member
Epstein, Michelle Member
Firbank, Leslie George Member
Guerche, Philippe Member
Hejatko, Jan Member
Moreno, F. Javier Member
Mullins, Ewen Member
Naegeli, Hanspeter Chair
Nogué, Fabien Member
Rostoks, Nils Vice-Chair
Sanchez Serrano, Jose Juan Member
Savoini, Giovanni Member
Veromann, Eve Member
Veronesi, Fabio Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Andrew Nicholas Birch, Member
  • Josep Casacuberta, Vice-Chair
  • Adinda De Schrijver, Member
  • Achim Gathmann, Member and Vice-Chair until June 2016
  • Mikolaj Antoni Gralak, Member
  • Philippe Guerche, Member
  • Huw Jones, Vice-Chair as of July 2016
  • Barbara Manachini, Member
  • Antoine Messean, Member
  • Hanspeter Naegeli, Chair
  • Elsa Ebbesen Nielsen, Member
  • Fabien Nogué, Member
  • Christophe Robaglia, Member
  • Nils Rostoks, Member
  • Jeremy Sweet, Member
  • Christoph Tebbe, Member
  • Francesco Visioli, Member
  • Jean-Michel Wal, Member


  • Joe Perry, Chair
  • Patrick du Jardin, Vice-chair
  • Gijs Kleter, Vice-chair
  • Salvatore Arpaia
  • Andrew Nicholas Edmund Birch
  • Andrew Chesson
  • Achim Gathmann
  • Jürgen Gropp
  • Lieve Herman
  • Hilde-Gunn Hoen-Sorteberg
  • Huw Jones
  • Jozsef Kiss
  • Pagona Lagiou, until November 2012
  • Martinus Lovik
  • Antoine Messéan
  • Hanspeter Naegeli
  • Kaare M. Nielsen
  • Jaroslava Ovesna
  • Nils Rostoks
  • Christoph Tebbe


  • Harry Kuiper, Chair
  • Sirpa Orvokki Kärenlampi, Vice-chair
  • Joe Perry, Vice-chair
  • Hans Christer Andersson
  • Salvatore Arpaia
  • Detlef Bartsch
  • Josep Casacuberta
  • Howard Vivian Davies
  • Gerhard Flachowsky
  • Patrick du Jardin
  • Huw Jones
  • Lieve Herman
  • Jozsef Kiss
  • Gijs Kleter
  • Antoine Messéan
  • Kaare M. Nielsen
  • Annette Pöting
  • Jeremy Sweet
  • Christoph Tebbe
  • Atte Von Wright
  • Jean-Michel Wal