Panel on Plant Health


The Panel on Plant Health (PLH) provides independent scientific advice on the risk posed by plant pests which can cause harm to plants, plant products or biodiversity in the EU. The Panel reviews and assesses those risks with regard to the safety and security of the food chain.

PLH Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Pest risk assessment – with particular regard to quantitative methods
  • Quantitative pathway analysis
  • Spatial-temporal modelling of pest dynamics, including aerobiology
  • Experimental design and statistical data processing
  • Systematic literature review
  • Plant pathology – diseases caused by phytopathogenic micro-organisms, e.g. fungi, bacteria, phytoplasmas, viruses, viroids)
  • Plant disease epidemiology and management
  • Invertebrate pests – phytophagous insects, mites and nematodes)
  • Integrated pest management and biological control
  • Weed science – including parasitic plants
  • Landscape ecology – in relation to plant health.
Panel members 

PLH Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Bragard, Claude Chair
Dehnen-Schmutz, Katharina Member
Di Serio, Francesco Vice-Chair
Gonthier, Paolo Member
Jacques, Marie-Agnès Member
Jaques Miret, Josep Anton Member
Justesen, Annemarie Fejer Member
MacLeod, Alan Member
Magnusson, Christer Sven Member
Milonas, Panagiotis Member
Navas-Cortes, Juan A. Member
Parnell, Stephen Member
Potting, Roel Member
Reignault, Philippe Lucien Member
Thulke, Hans-Hermann Member
Van der Werf, Wopke Member
Vicent Civera, Antonio Member
Yuen, Jonathan Vice-Chair
Zappala', Lucia Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Claude Bragard, Member
  • David Caffier, Member
  • Thierry Candresse, Vice-Chair
  • Elisavet Chatzivassiliou, Member
  • Katharina Dehnen-Schmutz, Member
  • Gianni Gilioli, Member
  • Jean Claude Gregoire, Member
  • Josep Anton Jaques Miret, Member
  • Michael John Jeger, Chair
  • Alan Macleod, Member
  • Maria Navajas, Vice-Chair
  • Bjoern Niere, Member
  • Stephen Parnell, Member
  • Roel Potting, Member
  • Trond Rafoss, Member
  • Vittorio Rossi, Member
  • Gregor Urek, Member
  • Ariena Van Bruggen, Member
  • Wopke Van Der Werf, Member
  • Jon West, Member
  • Stephan Winter, Member


  • Michael John Jeger, Chair
  • Gritta Schrader, Vice-chair
  • Johan Coert van Lenteren, Vice-chair
  • Richard H.A. Baker
  • Claude Bragard
  • Thierry Candresse
  • Gianni Gilioli
  • Jean-Claude Grégoire
  • Imre Holb
  • Olia Karadjova
  • Christer Sven Magnusson
  • David Makowski
  • Charles Manceau
  • Maria Navajas
  • Trond Rafoss
  • Vittorio Rossi
  • Jan Schans
  • Gregor Urek
  • Wopke Van der Werf
  • Irene Vloutoglou
  • Stephan Winter


  • Jan Schans, Chair
  • Richard Baker, Vice-chair
  • Gabor Lovei, Vice-chair
  • David Caffier
  • James William Choiseul
  • Patrick de Clercq
  • Erzsebet Dormannsne Simon
  • Baerbel Gerowitt
  • Olia Evtimova Karadjova
  • David Makowski
  • Charles Manceau
  • Maria Luisa Manici
  • Alfons Oude Lansink
  • Dionyssios Perdikis
  • Angelo Porta Puglia
  • Gritta Schrader
  • Robert Steffek
  • Anita Stromberg
  • Kari Tiilikkala
  • Johan Coert Van Lenteren
  • Irene Vloutoglou


Forthcoming events