Panel on Additives and Products or Substances used in Animal Feed


The Panel on Additives and Products or Substances used in Animal Feed (FEEDAP) provides scientific advice on the safety and/or efficacy of additives and products or substances used in animal feed. The Panel evaluates their safety and/or efficacy for the target species, the user, the consumer of products of animal origin and the environment. It also looks at the efficacy of biological and chemical products/substances intended for deliberate use in animal feed.

FEEDAP Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Animal nutrition/animal physiology/production – monogastric, ruminant and poultry nutrition, including digestive processes, feeding techniques, feed formulation, nutrient requirements and tolerance
  • Toxicology – sub-chronic and chronic toxicity (repeated dose studies), genotoxicity and mutagenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity and occupational toxicology
  • Pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics/metabolism studies – absorption, distribution, metabolism and excretion (ADME) of substances, exposure assessment (upper levels, maximum residue levels)
  • Microbiology, antimicrobial resistance – (evaluation of microorganism-based additives)
  • Environmental risk assessment – impact of using feed additives on terrestrial and aquatic environments)
Panel members 

FEEDAP Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Azimonti, Giovanna Vice-Chair
Bampidis, Vasileios Chair
Bastos, Maria De Lourdes Member
Christensen, Henrik Member
Dusemund, Birgit Member
Kos Durjava, Mojca Member
Kouba, Maryline Member
Lopez Puente, Secundino Member
López-Alonso, Marta Member
Marcon, Francesca Member
Mayo, Baltasar Member
Pechová, Alena Member
Petkova, Mariana Member
Ramos, Fernando Jorge Member
Sanz, Yolanda Member
Villa, Roberto Edoardo Vice-Chair
Woutersen, Rudolf Antonius Member

FEEDAP Panel Members, 2015-2018. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Rychen, Guido Chair
Saarela, Maria Vice-Chair
Villa, Roberto Edoardo, Vice-Chair as of February 2018 Vice-Chair
Aquilina, Gabriele Member
Azimonti, Giovanna, member as of January 2016 Member
Bampidis, Vasileios Member
Bastos, Maria De Lourdes Member
Bories, Georges Member
Chesson, Andrew Member
Cocconcelli, Pier Sandro Member
Ramos, Fernando Jorge Member
Fernandez-Cruz, Maria, member until October 2015 Member
Flachowsky, Gerhard Member
Gropp, Jürgen Member
Kolar, Boris Member
Kouba, Maryline Member
López-Alonso, Marta Member
Lopez Puente, Secundino Member
Mantovani, Alberto Member
Mayo, Baltasar Member
Wallace, Robert John Member
Wester, Pieter Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Kristen Sejrsen, Chair
  • Christer Hogstrand, Vice-chair
  • Guido Rychen, Vice-chair
  • Gabriele Aquilina
  • Alex Bach, until July 2013
  • Vasileios Bampidis
  • Maria de Lourdes Bastos
  • Lucio Guido Costa, as of March 2013
  • Gerhard Flachowsky
  • Josep Gasa-Gaso, until March 2013
  • Mikolaj Antoni Gralak
  • Lubomir Leng
  • Secundino López Puente
  • Giovanna Martelli
  • Baltasar Mayo
  • Fernando Ramos, as of March 2013
  • Derek Renshaw
  • Maria Saarela
  • Patrick Van Beelen
  • Robert John Wallace
  • Johannes Westendorf


  • Andrew Chesson, Chair
  • Jürgen Gropp, Vice-chair
  • Alberto Mantovani, Vice-chair
  • Gabriele Aquilina
  • Georges Bories
  • Paul George Brantom, until February 2011
  • Francesca Caloni, until February 2010
  • Pier Sandro Cocconcelli
  • Joop De Knecht
  • Noël Albert Dierick
  • Mikolaj Antoni Gralak
  • Ingrid Halle
  • Christer Hogstrand, from April 2011
  • Nils-Gunnar Ilback, until March 2010
  • Reinhard Kroker, until May 2012
  • Peadar Lawlor, until February 2010
  • Lubomir Leng
  • Sven Lindgren, until November 2010
  • Secundino Lopez Puente, from April 2011
  • Anne Katrine Lundebye Haldorsen
  • Giovanna Martelli, from April 2011
  • Miklós Mézes
  • Derek Renshaw
  • Maria Saarela
  • Kristen Sejrsen, from April 2011
  • Johannes Westendorf, from April 2011

Forthcoming events

No future events are currently scheduled for this panel.