Panel on Food Contact Materials, Enzymes and Processing Aids


The Panel on Food Contact Materials, Enzymes and Processing Aids (CEP)* evaluates the safety of chemical substances added to food or used in food packaging, and related processes. The Panel's work mainly concerns substances and processes evaluated by EFSA before their use can be authorised in the EU.

CEP Panel Members are scientists from across Europe with expertise in:

  • Chemical risk assessment focusing on food enzymes, and chemicals used in the production of plastic materials or other food packaging
  • Toxicology (mammalian): sub-chronic and chronic toxicity (repeated dose studies), genotoxicity and mutagenicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, carcinogenicity, allergenicity and immunotoxicity
  • Toxicity testing in experimental animals and alternative toxicity tests
  • Toxicokinetics and toxicodynamics (ADME - absorption, distribution, metabolism, excretion) of substances
  • Epidemiology (humans)
  • Chemistry (organic, analytical and synthetic chemistry), especially for the chemical identification and specification of chemical substances and for migration testing of food contact materials
  • Exposure assessment and consumption surveys
  • Food technology (manufacturing processes and use of processing aids)
  • Food microbiology including enzyme biotechnology using genetically-modified microorganisms

*The CEP Panel continues the work in most of the areas previously covered by the former Panel on Food Contact Materials, Enzymes, Flavourings and Processing Aids (CEF), but has handed over responsibility for the evaluation of flavourings to the FAF Panel.

Panel members 

Food Contact Materials, Enzymes and Processing Aids Panel Members, 2018-2021. View Declarations of Interests and CVs.

Name Role
Barat Baviera, José Manuel Member
Bolognesi, Claudia Member
Brüschweiler, Beat Johannes Member, until June 2019
Chesson, Andrew Member
Cocconcelli, Pier Sandro Member
Crebelli, Riccardo Member
Gott, David Michael Member
Grob, Konrad Member
Lambré, Claude Member, as of April 2020
Lampi, Evgenia Member
Mengelers, Marcel Member, as of April 2020
Mortensen, Alicja Vice-Chair
Riviere, Gilles Member
Silano, Vittorio Chair
Steffensen, Inger-Lise Member
Tlustos, Christina Member
Van Loveren, Henk Vice-Chair
Vernis, Laurence Member
Zorn, Holger Member
Previous panel members 

The Declarations of Interests and CVs of previous Panel members are available upon request.


  • Claudia Bolognesi, Member
  • Laurence Castle, Member
  • Kevin Chipman, Member
  • Jean-Pierre Cravedi, Member
  • Karl-Heinz Engel, Vice-Chair
  • Paul Fowler, Member
  • Roland Franz, Member
  • Konrad Grob, Member
  • Rainer Gürtler, Member
  • Trine Husøy, Member
  • Sirpa Kärenlampi, Member
  • Wim Mennes, Member
  • Maria Rosaria Milana, Member
  • Karla Pfaff, Member
  • Gilles Riviere, Member
  • Vittorio Silano, Chair
  • Jannavi Srinivasan, Member
  • Maria de Fatima Tavares Poças, Member
  • Christina Tlustos, Member
  • Detlef Wölfle, Vice-Chair
  • Holger Zorn, Member


  • Silano Vittorio, Chair
  • Mennes Wim, Vice-Chair
  • Wölfle Detlef, Vice-Chair
  • Bolognesi Claudia, Member
  • Castle Laurence, Member
  • Cravedi Jean-Pierre, Member
  • Engel Karl-Heinz, Member
  • Fowler Paul, Member
  • Franz Roland, Member
  • Grob Konrad, Member
  • Gürtler Rainer, Member
  • Husøy Trine, Member
  • Kärenlampi Sirpa, Member as of July 2015
  • Milana Maria Rosaria, Member
  • Penninks André, Member
  • Smith Andrew, Member
  • Tavares Poças Maria De Fatima, Member
  • Tlustos Christina, Member
  • Toldrá Fidel, Member until September 2015
  • Zorn Holger, Member
  • Zugravu Corina-Aurelia, Member as of July 2015


  • Mennes Wim, Chair as of April 2014
  • Castle Laurence, Vice-Chair as of April 2014
  • Wölfle Detlef, Vice-Chair
  • Beckman Sundh Ulla, Member
  • Binderup Mona-Lise, Member
  • Bolognesi Claudia, Member
  • Brimer Leon, Member
  • Di Domenico Alessandro, Member
  • Engel Karl-Heinz, Member
  • Franz Roland, Member
  • Gontard Nathalie, Member
  • Guertler Rainer, Member
  • Husoy Trine, Member
  • Jany Klaus-Dieter, Member
  • Kolf-Clauw Martine, Member
  • Milana Maria Rosaria, Member
  • Pratt Iona, Chair until February 2014 †
  • Svensson Kettil, Member
  • Tavares Pocas Maria de Fatima, Member
  • Toldra Fidel, Member


  • Klaus-Dieter Jany, Chair
  • Karl-Heinz Engel, Vice-chair
  • Wim Mennes, Vice-chair
  • Arturo Anadon
  • David Bell, until end of November 2009
  • Mona-Lise Binderup
  • Wilfried Bursch
  • Laurence Castle
  • Riccardo Crebelli
  • Roland Franz
  • Nathalie Gontard
  • Thomas Haertle
  • Trine Husoy
  • Catherine Leclercq
  • Jean-Claude Lhuguenot
  • Maria Rosaria Milana
  • Karla Pfaff
  • Kettil Svensson
  • Fidel Toldra
  • Rosemary Waring
  • Detlef Woelfle


Forthcoming events