Skip to main content
Ελληνικά el

Pest categorisation of Colletotrichum aenigma, C. alienum, C. perseae, C. siamense and C. theobromicola

on the Wiley Online Library


Panel members at the time of adoption

Claude Bragard, Paula Baptista, Elisavet Chatzivassiliou, Francesco Di Serio, Paolo Gonthier, Josep Anton Jaques Miret, Annemarie Fejer Justesen, Alan MacLeod, Christer Sven Magnusson, Panagiotis Milonas, Juan A Navas‐Cortes, Stephen Parnell, Roel Potting, Philippe L Reignault, Emilio Stefani, Hans‐Hermann Thulke, Wopke Van der Werf, Antonio Vicent Civera, Jonathan Yuen and Lucia Zappalà.


The EFSA Plant Health Panel performed a pest categorisation of Colletotrichum aenigma, C. alienum, C. perseae, C. siamense and C. theobromicola, five clearly defined fungi of the C. gloeosporioides complex causing anthracnose. The pathogens are widely distributed in at least three continents. C. aenigma and C. siamense are reported from Italy and C. alienum from Portugal, including the Madeira Islands, with a restricted distribution. C. perseae and C. theobromicola are not known to be present in the EU. However, there is uncertainty on the status of the pathogens worldwide and in the EU because of the taxonomic re‐evaluation of the genus Colletotrichum and the lack of specific surveys. The pathogens are not included in Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2072 and there are no reports of interceptions in the EU. With the exception of C. perseae, which has a very limited number of hosts, the other four Colletotrichum species have relatively wide host ranges. Therefore, this pest categorisation focused on those hosts for which there is robust evidence that the pathogens were formally identified by a combination of morphology, pathogenicity and multilocus sequence analysis. Host plants for planting and fresh fruits are the main entry pathways into the EU. Host availability and climate suitability factors occurring in some parts of the EU are favourable for the establishment of the pathogens. No yield losses have been reported so far in the EU but in non‐EU areas of their current distribution, the pathogens have a direct impact on cultivated hosts that are also relevant for the EU. Phytosanitary measures are available to prevent the further introduction and spread of C. aenigma, C. alienum and C. siamense into the EU as well as the introduction and spread of C. perseae and C. theobromicola. C. aenigma, C. alienum, C. perseae, C. siamense and C. theobromicola satisfy the criteria that are within the remit of EFSA to assess for these species to be regarded as potential Union quarantine pests.

Σχετικό(-ά) θέμα(-τα)