Pest categorisation of Anthonomus signatus

Curculionidae, European Union, pest risk, plant health, plant pest, quarantine, strawberry bud weevil
First published in the EFSA Journal
4 July 2017
24 May 2017
Scientific Opinion


The Panel on Plant Health performed a pest categorisation of the strawberry bud weevil, Anthonomus signatus Say, (Coleoptera: Curculionidae), for the EU. A. signatus is a well-defined and distinguishable species, recognised as a pest of strawberry (Fragaria) fruit production in eastern North America where it is also a pest of Rubus. There are reports of Asignatus associated with non-rosaceous plants such as Mentha, Nepeta, Rhododendron and Solidago although whether such plants are true hosts is uncertain. This pest categorisation focuses on Fragaria and Rubus as hosts. Anthonomus signatus is not known to occur in the EU. It is listed in Annex IIAI of Council Directive 2000/29/EC. The international trade in Fragaria and Rubus plants for planting provides a potential pathway to introduce Asignatus from North America. Considering climatic similarities between North America and the EU, the thermal biology of Asignatus and host distribution in the EU, Asignatus has the potential to establish within the EU. There would be one generation per year, as in North America. As a pest of field grown Fragaria and Rubus, Asignatus would not be expected to establish in EU glasshouses. In North America, adults clip developing buds, preventing fruit development and reducing yield. Losses are variable and depend on the cultivars attacked. Severe crop losses have been reported. However, some Fragaria cultivars can compensate the loss of buds, e.g. by increasing the weight of fruits developing on remaining buds. Phytosanitary measures are available to reduce the likelihood of introduction of Asignatus from North America. All criteria assessed by EFSA for consideration as a potential Union quarantine pest are met. As Asignatus is not known to occur in the EU, this criterion assessed by EFSA to consider it as a Union regulated non-quarantine pest is not met.

Panel members at the time of adoption

Claude Bragard, David Caffier, Thierry Candresse, Elisavet Chatzivassiliou, Katharina Dehnen-Schmutz, Gianni Gilioli, Jean-Claude Gregoire, Josep Anton Jaques Miret, Michael Jeger, Alan MacLeod, Maria Navajas Navarro, Björn Niere, Stephen Parnell, Roel Potting, Trond Rafoss, Vittorio Rossi, Gregor Urek, Ariena Van Bruggen, Wopke Van der Werf, Jonathan West and Stephan Winter.
Panel on Plant Health
alpha [at]
EFSA Journal 2017;15(7):4882
Question Number
On request from
European Commission