Scientific Opinion on Flavouring Group Evaluation 200 (FGE.200): 74 α,β-unsaturated aldehydes and precursors from subgroup 1.1.1 of FGE.19

α,β-unsaturated aldehydes, straight chain, FGE.200, flavouring substances, safety evaluation, subgroup 1.1.1, FGE.19
First published in the EFSA Journal
12 June 2014
21 May 2014
Last Updated
4 August 2014. This version replaces the previous one/s.
Scientific Opinion


The Panel on Food Contact Materials, Enzymes, Flavourings and Processing Aids of the European Food Safety Authority was requested to evaluate the genotoxic potential of 74 flavouring substances from subgroup 1.1.1 of FGE.19 in the Flavouring Group Evaluation 200 (FGE.200). The Flavour Industry has provided additional genotoxicity studies for one representative substance in FGE.200, namely hex-2(trans)-enal [FL-no 05.073], and for other two substances in the same subgroup, namely 2-dodecenal [05.037] and 2-nonenal [05.171]. The Panel has evaluated these data and concluded that the concern still remains with respect to genotoxicity for the substances of this subgroup and their three representative substances. The Panel confirms, the need for an in vivo Comet assay performed in duodenum and liver for hex-2(trans)-enal [FL-no: 05.073]. For the two other representative substances of subgroup 1.1.1 (nona-2(trans),6(cis)-dienal [FL-no: 05.058] and oct-2-enal [FL-no: 05.060]), a combined in vivo Comet assay and micronucleus assay would be required. For the latter, evidence of bone marrow exposure should be provided.

Panel members at the time of adoption

Ulla Beckman Sundh, Mona-Lise Binderup, Claudia Bolognesi, Leon Brimer, Laurence Castle, Alessandro Di Domenico, Karl-Heinz Engel, Roland Franz, Nathalie Gontard, Rainer Gürtler, Trine Husøy, Klaus-Dieter Jany, Martine Kolf-Clauw, Wim Mennes, Maria Rosaria Milana, Iona Pratt †, Kettil Svensson, Maria de Fátima Tavares Poças, Fidel Toldra and Detlef Wölfle.
Panel on Food Contact Materials, Enzymes, Flavourings and Processing Aids
fip [at]
EFSA Journal 2014;12(6):3709
On request from
European Commission