Opinion of the Scientific Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW) on a request from the Commission related to the aspects of the biology and welfare of animals used for experimental and other scientific purposes


Panel on Animal Health and Welfare
Panel Members
Bo Algers, Harry J. Blokhuis, Donald Maurice Broom, Ilaria Capua, Stefano Cinotti, Michael Gunn, Jörg Hartung, Per Have, Xavier Manteca Vilanova, David B. Morton, Michel Pépin, Dirk Udo Pfeiffer, Ronald John Roberts, José Manuel Sánchez Vizcaino, Alejandro Schudel, James Michael Sharp, Georgios Theodoropoulos, Philippe Vannier, Marina Verga, Martin Wierup, Marion Wooldridge.

The working group drafted the scientific risk assessment, which was then reviewed and adopted by the AHAW Panel. The working group was chaired by David Morton on behalf of the AHAW Panel. The members of the working group were: Questions 1&2 - Chairman Prof. Donald Broom: Dr Chris Sherwin, Prof. Neville Gregory, and Dr Roddy Williamson. Question 3 – Chairman Dr Xavier Manteca: Prof Stefano Cinotti, Dr David Anderson and Prof. Timo Nevalainen. Question 4 - Chairman Prof David Morton: Dr Mohan Raj and Dr Bert Lambooij.

Opinion of the Scientific Committee/Scientific Panel
Question Number
14 November 2005
Published in the EFSA Journal
22 December 2005
Last Updated
22 January 2007. This version replaces the previous one/s.
European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), Parma, Italy
No abstract available
Animal research, experimental animals, animal welfare, invertebrate sentience, fetal sentience, purpose breeding, euthanasia.