Pest categorisation of Pseudopityophthorus minutissimus and P. pruinosus

Bretziella fagacearum, European Union, oak bark beetle, pest risk, plant health, plantpest, quarantine
First published in the EFSA Journal
11. Januar 2019
4. Dezember 2018
Scientific Opinion

The full opinion will be published in accordance with Article 12 of Regulation (EC) No 1331/2008 once the decision on confidentiality will be received from the European Commission


The Panel on Plant Health performed a pest categorisation of Pseudopityophthorus minutissimus and Pseudopityophthorus pruinosus, two well‐defined insect species in the family Curculionidae, subfamily Scolytinae (Insecta: Coleoptera). They can be identified using taxonomic keys. P. minutissimus is present in parts of Canada and the USA, and P. pruinosus is present in parts of the USA, Guatemala, Honduras and Mexico. The main host plants of the two species are Quercus spp., but they also attack several other genera. The two species mostly colonise weakened or dead branches but can also attack the stems. They are mostly secondary pests but they vector the oak wilt fungus, Bretziella fagacearum, which causes heavy damage in American Quercus spp. populations. The fungus is mainly transmitted by the young adults during their maturation feeding on twigs, leaf petioles and young acorn stems. The beetles are polygamous and have two generations per year in most of their range. The main pathways are wood, bark, plants for planting, cut branches, chips and wood waste. These pathways are fully or partly regulated for the genera Quercus, Castanea and Prunus. However, the pathways are not regulated for the following genera: Carpinus, Fagus,Hamamelis, Alnus. P. minutissimus and P. pruinosus meet all the criteria assessed by EFSA for consideration as potential Union quarantine pest. The criteria for considering P. minutissimus and P. pruinosus as potential Union regulated non‐quarantine pests are not met since neither species are known to be present in the EU.

Panel members at the time of adoption

Claude Bragard, Katharina Dehnen‐Schmutz, Francesco Di Serio, Paolo Gonthier, Marie‐Agnès Jacques, Josep Anton Jaques Miret, Annemarie Fejer Justesen, Alan MacLeod, Christer Sven Magnusson, Panagiotis Milonas, Juan A Navas‐Cortes, Stephen Parnell, Roel Potting, Philippe L. Reignault, Hans‐Hermann Thulke, Wopke Van der Werf, Antonio Vicent, Jonathan Yuen and Lucia Zappalà.
Panel on Plant Health
alpha [at]
EFSA Journal 2019;17(1):5513
On request from
European Commission